September 2013

Translators without Borders expands management team and creates board of advisors

The non-profit translation organization, Translators without Borders (TWB) has appointed Anne-Marie Colliander Lind as Director of Fundraising to work directly with the humanitarian organization’s growing number of sponsors and supporters.

Colliander Lind has been a long-term volunteer for TWB; in her new capacity she will work directly with the program director and board members to help the organization scale to meet growing needs for access to knowledge around the world.

The appointment of Colliander Lind was approved at the organization’s annual general meeting where it was also agreed to reduce the board of directors to nine and to create a board of advisors made up of experts and veterans in their fields. The management team was also expanded to include a senior manager of resources (Rocio Haskell) and senior project manager (Ildiko Santana). The positions, all of which are currently volunteer, will allow TWB to serve more non-profits and help more people with crisis, health and education knowledge in the right language.

“We just reached 11 million words translated, and we simply could not have done it without the very deep and wide support from volunteers in the translation industry and beyond,” said Rebecca Petras, Program Director of Translators without Borders. “The awareness among non-profits of our work and the impact translation makes is growing very fast, and we need to scale to meet the need to provide vital information in the right languages. I am so grateful to have the ongoing support of our board and the added support of Anne-Marie, our advisors and the entire management team.”

 The nine directors are:

  • Lori Thicke, President
  • Francoise Henderson, Treasurer
  • Donna Parrish, Secretary
  • Simon Andriesen
  • Andrew Bredenkamp
  • Enrique Cavalitto
  • Ulrich Henes
  • Iris Orriss

 The 15 advisors are:

  • Renato Beninatto
  • Henry Dotterer
  • Robert Etches
  • Griselda Garibay
  • Salvatore Giammarresi
  • Daniel Goldschmidt
  • Adelaida Maidagan Lazkano
  • Gary Muddyman
  • Uli Paulin
  • Sergio Pelino
  • Donald Plumley
  • Nico Posner
  • Paula Shannon
  • Michael Smolens
  • Diane Wagner